The GENOS Emotional Intelligence Model

Posted by Roxanne Chugg

The GENOS model of emotional intelligence involves seven core skills including:


Emotional Self Awareness is having a clear perception of your personality, including strengths, weaknesses, thoughts, beliefs, motivation, and emotions. Self Awareness allows you to understand other people, how they perceive you, your attitude and your responses to them in the moment.

Why develop self awareness?

As you develop self awareness you are able to make changes in the thoughts and interpretations you make in your mind. Changing the interpretations in your mind allows you to change your emotions. Self awareness is one of the attributes of Emotional Intelligence and an important factor in achieving success.

How do you develop self awareness?

Self awareness is the first step in creating what you want and mastering your life. Where you focus your attention, your emotions, reactions, personality and behaviour determine where you go in life. Having self awareness allows you to see where your thoughts and emotions are taking you. It also allows you to take control of your emotions, behaviour, and personality so you can make changes you want. Until you are aware in the moment of your thoughts, emotions, words, and behaviour, you will have difficulty making changes in the way you behave and live your life.   This takes time, reflection and practice; focusing your attention on your thoughts and behaviour and learning from this reflection.

Self awareness helps you:

  • Know your strengths and weaknesses
  • Develop your skills
  • Develops intuitive decision making skills
  • Reduce stress
  • Increase motivation
  • Improve your leadership skills

Having a clear understanding of your thought and, behaviour patterns helps you understand other people. This ability to empathise facilitates better personal and professional relationships.   How self aware are you?